Assessment

Professionalism Session 2

Compared to my other blog posts, this one was not as personal. I didn’t really state my own experiences. Instead, I used information directly from the text and found media compositions (pictures and videos) that were straightforward. This blog post was more academic than the other ones I have done. It seems like it would fit in a textbook.

Design Writing Process

The design of this blog post was to mix academic writing with humor. For the most part, I give simple steps to my writing process  in a straight-forward way, then included a video for helpful tips for beginning writers. Then, I went into more detail about why novice writers struggles when they first start writing, and included a funny cartoon that gives an ironic twist on the seemingly hard task of writing in college.

Creativity Appropriation

With this blog, I wanted to be really creative in the details. As far as the text goes, I gave the reader a lot of examples about appropriation, from how I used Nine Inch Nails’ combination of musical styles to explain teachers combining information to teach their students and included an infographic. When it comes to choosing an important topic, I chose a song I wrote about getting bullied in high school, “Tangled Up In You,” or including the video “Knowing” to express the topic of why I want to be a teacher.

 

People’s Choice Student Writers

This blog is definitely my favorite. In retrospect, it’s like a combination of the best elements from all my other blogs. Like “Session 2”, it was highly professional, as it demonstrated my knowledge of the material. Like Design, I went into detail about helping students be better writers. Like “Appropriation,” I used my personal experiences to emphasize my feelings on why positive feedback is important.

People’s Choice Awards PLAYING AROUND WITH MULTIMODAL COMPOSTION

From its effective use of colors to its professional approach to a difficult subject, Emily’s post is a perfect example of how multimodal compositions should be made, and how it allows students to be creative while doing assignments.

From its effective use of colors to its professional approach to a difficult subject, Emily’s post is a perfect example of how multimodal compositions should be made, and how it allows students to be creative while doing assignments.
Tweeting was similar to blogging because it allowed me to use technology to communicate with others in the class about what we learned in discussion and what we wrote our blog posts. Tweeting is different from blogging because my posts were much more condensed and not nearly as detailed. Advice I would give to teachers about tweeting is to consider doing it to interact with students who are either quiet or shy in class to share their ideas.

One comment

  1. Sara · April 25, 2016

    I liked how thorough you were in this finally blog post! You really took the time to think about which postes were the best. I think I may have done this part wrong on my own blog 🙂 You are another person who voted for Emily. It looks like it will be between Emily and Taylor. I agree that Emily did a great job with her blog. She was always very creative with her postings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

